I. Overview of the Collection
Title: Ex Corde Ecclesiae Collection
Dates: 1985-2006
Location: 04/60
Extent: 2 boxes (1 linear ft.)
Language: English
II. Historical note
Ex Corde Ecclesia or From the Heart of the Church is Pope John Paul II's apostolic constitution on Catholic colleges and universities. It was released by the Vatican on September 25, 1990.
The constitution is divided into two main parts, the first on the Catholic university's identity and mission, and the second a presentation of general norms under seven headings for “all Catholic universities and other Catholic institutes of higher studies throughout the world.” The constitution outlines four essential characteristics of Catholic universities and calls for universities to make their Catholic identity known. The document examines theology's role in the university and vis-a-vis the magisterium, the relationship with the local bishop, campus ministry and the institution's dialogue with culture and with the sciences. Also discussed is laity in the university, the role of non-Catholics, interdisciplinary education, and the responsibility of civil governments, ecumenical dialogue and evangelization. The apostolic constitution is addressed to “those who conduct Catholic universities, to the respective academic communities, to all those who have an interest in them,” particularly bishops, religious congregations, ecclesial institutions and laity committed to higher education.
The apostolic constitution was viewed as a rebuttal to the Land O'Lakes Statement, a 1967 position paper adopted by the participants of a seminar sponsored by University of Notre Dame on the role of Catholic universities. Seminar attendees included the University Presidents of Notre Dame, Georgetown, Seton Hall, Boston College, Fordham, St. Louis University, Pontifical University of Puerto Rico, the Archbishop of Atlanta and more than a dozen other educators of North American Catholic higher education.
Source
Ex Corde Ecclesiae. Retrieved on Oct. 2012 from: http://www.aquinas.edu/125/pdf/ex-corde-ecclesiae.pdf
Apostolic Constitution of the Supreme Pontiff John Paul II on Catholic Universities. Retrieved on Oct. 2012 from: http://www.vatican.va/holy_father/john_paul_ii/apost_constitutions/documents/hf_jp-ii_apc_15081990_ex-corde-ecclesiae_en.html
III. The Collection
Collection documents the discussion, application and implementation of Ex Corde Ecclesiae (From the Heart of the Church) for United States colleges and universities.
The Collection includes correspondence, memoranda, drafts of proposal, minutes of meetings, reports and supplementary materials on the Apostolic Constitution. The bulk of the collection consists on materials created or published from 1990 to 2002. It is organized in two groups, Records and Articles.
IV. Container list:
Box Title
Records
1 1985-1986
1990-1993
1994-1997
1996-1998
2 1999
2000-2006
Articles
Box Title
2 ACCU Current Issues in a Catholic Higher Edu. v.19, nos.1-2, 1998-99
The American experience and Catholic Higher Education. 1992
Bradley, Gerard V. Ex Corde Ecclesiae Again
In: Fellowship of Catholic Scholars Quarterly, v.24, no.4 (1998)
Catholic colleges and universities: an American profile
Catholic Higher Education an American Profile, 1993
Conn, J.J. The Universities, the Bishops and the Vatican: breaching...
In: America, Jan. 30, 1999
Ex Corde EcclesiaeL an application to the United States.
In: Origins, v.29 no.25 (Dec. 2, 1999)
Ex Corde Ecclesiae and its ordinances, is this any ways to run a...
In: Commonweal, Nov. 19, 1993
Ex Corde Ecclesiae: the future of higher education
In: Catholic International, v.11, no.2 (May 2000)
Explore: an examination of Catholic identity and Ignatian character in Jesuit higher education v.6, no.1, Fall 2002
Gleason, Philip. What made Catholic identity a problem?
In: Marianist Award Lecture, 1994
John Paul II, Pope. Apolistic Constitution of the Supreme Pontiff “Ex corde Ecclesiae”
In: Current Issues in Higher Education, v.11, no.2 (1991)
------. Ecclesia in America, 1999
Komonchak, J.A. Some Theological reflections on Canon 812
Monan, J.D. Ex Corde Ecclesiae creates and impasse
In: America, Jan. 30, 1999
Orsy, L. Bishops and universities: Dominion or Communion
In: America, No. 20, 1993
Phan, P.C. Why the mandatum requirement should not be written...
Supplementary materials on Ex corde Ecclesiae, 1993-2000
Theological Education Issue
In: America, Jan. 30-Feb.y 6, 1999
Update / ACCU chronicles Ex corde, 1999-2000
Warner, R. A defining moment, the church and Catholic higher...
In: Notre Dame Magazine, Autumn 1999
V. Administrative Information
Acquisition Information: Transfer, President’s Office, 2012
Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research
Processed by: Khalifa Antoine 2012. Revised by Ximena Valdivia 2012
Preferred Citation: Ex Corde Ecclesiae Collection, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida
