Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College of Arts & Sciences-Dept. of English & Foreign Languages: Search Tools

English

Search Tools

Here are the Library's search tools for finding resources in our collection:

  • Databases – a digital collection of academic journals, journal articles, eBooks, streaming video, etc.
  • Library Catalog – searches the Library’s collection of books/eBooks, streaming video, archives, music scores, course reserves, etc. Does not search for individual articles-use databases.
  • Single Search - Submits queries across all Library holdings and aggregates the results.
  • InterLibrary Loan - provides access to resources that are not available at the Monsignor William Barry Memorial Library.

Contact us for assistance in locating materials for your area of research. Remember! Never pay for an article!

Databases

Databases are electronic indexes or catalogs of published books, journals, journal articles, conference papers, data, etc. The Monsignor William Barry Memorial Library subscribes to nearly 150 electronic databases.

On the Barry Library Homepage, you will find in the center column Databases by Subject and Databases by Title.

Databases by Subject: Here is a list of categories that will help you choose the best databases for your area of study.

Databases by Title: Here you will find links and descriptions of our databases in alphabetical order.

  • Select the first letter in the database name (ex: "E" for ERIC).
  • Scroll through the complete list of databases.

Search BU Library Catalog

Use the Library Catalog to find:

  • Books/eBooks
  • Streaming Video/DVDs
  • Archival Materials
  • Thesis/Dissertations
  • Course Reserves
  • Music Scores

Use wildcards, boolean operators, limiters, and grouping for better results.
Visit the 'Help" or 'FAQ' links below for additional information.

HAPPY SEARCHING!

Single Search

Using the library's single search engine, you will be able to find most of the resources available from the Monsignor William Barry Memorial Library, including books and eBooks, journal articles, streaming audio/video, DVDs & videos, dissertations and theses, and much more.

Other Libraries

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) provides current Barry University Faculty, Staff, and Students access to resources not available at the Monsignor William Barry Memorial Library.

ILL’s hours of operation are Monday–Friday from 9:00 am-5:00 pm. Borrowing services can be reached at 305-899-3943 or at ill@barry.edu.

The SEFLIN One Card Program is a reciprocal borrowing program available to SEFLIN member academic, public, and school libraries across Broward, Palm Beach, Martin, Miami-Dade Counties' Libraries. Participation in the program is voluntary. Each participating institution issues the SEFLIN One Card to its patrons, students, faculty, and professional library staff according to its own policies. Find a university using the Member Institution link below for its policy information.

A SEFLIN OneCard is available (free) to all currently registered Barry students in Southeast Florida - request a SEFLIN OneCard at the Library's Main Floor Circulation Desk. To receive a SEFLIN card by mail, contact Circulation Supervisor at 305.899.3943 or 1.800.756.6000 x3943.

WorldCat contains over 40 million citations to books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, musical scores, archival materials and much more, representing holdings of most libraries in North America and some in Europe.

You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. You can also discover many new kinds of digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks. You may also find article citations with links to their full text; authoritative research materials, such as documents and photos of local or historic significance; and digital versions of rare items that aren't available to the public. Because WorldCat libraries serve diverse communities in dozens of countries, resources are available in many languages.