Background information can be found in reference sources, online or in print, such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks.
NOTE: below are examples of resources the Library offers. Use the catalog to conduct additional searches.
Academic Keywords: a devil's dictionary for higher education by 
Dictionary of Literary Characters by
Dictionary of Literary Characters is a stunning, five-volume set containing descriptions of more than 40,000 characters in great literary works from the United States, Britain, and around the world. The wide assortment of characters featured in this comprehensive work are compiled from novels, short stories, and plays; ranging from such ancient classics as Sophocles' Antigone to 21st-century prizewinners such as Jeffrey Eugenides' Middlesex.
Historical Dictionary of French Literature by
Almost all of us know French literature, even if we don't know French, because it is probably the second largest and certainly the most translated into English. And, even if we don't read, we would have seen film and television versions (think Count of Monte-Cristo) and even a musical rendition (Les Mis). So this is a particularly interesting volume in the literature series, since it covers French literature from the earliest times to the present. It is also a particularly rich literature, espousing ever genre from poetry, to novel, to biography, to drama, and adopting every style, including realism and surrealism, and expressing the views of all classes and political stands, with recently strong feminist and gay strains.
Shakespeare and Language by
'This book is nothing short of brilliant. It is bursting with new observations, pithy readings and sensitive analyses. One of Hope's skills is to show us that 'language' is not separable from 'ideas'; both are systems of representation. This is a book about words, conventions, artifice, mythology, innovation, reason, eloquence, silence, control, communication, selfhood, dialect, 'late style' and much, much more. After reading Hope's book you will never read Shakespeare in the same way.' (Professor Laurie Maguire, Magdalen College, Oxford)
Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education by
"With articles on Spanglish and Spanish loan words in English as well as Southeast Asian refugees and World Englishes, this encyclopedia has a broad scope that will make it useful in academic and large public libraries serving those involved in teaching and learning in multiple languages." - Booklist The simplest definition of bilingual education is the use of two languages in the teaching of curriculum content in K-12 schools. There is an important difference to keep in mind between bilingual education and the study of foreign languages as school subjects: In bilingual education, two languages are used for instruction, and the goal is academic success in and through the two languages. The traditional model of foreign-language study places the emphasis on the acquisition of the languages themselves. The field of bilingual education is dynamic and even controversial. The two volumes of this comprehensive, first-stop reference work collect and synthesize the knowledge base that has been well researched and accepted in the United States and abroad while also taking note of how this topic affects schools, research centers, legislative bodies, advocacy organizations, and families. The Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education is embedded in several disciplines, including applied linguistics, politics, civil rights, historical events, and of course, classroom instruction. This work is a compendium of information on bilingual education and related topics in the United States with select international contributors providing global insight onto the field.
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by
This book discusses current research in the field of language and linguistics. Topics presented include syntax of dislocation, extraposition and parenthesis; learner perception and strategies for pragmatic acquisition; the need for explicit inferential methods in linguistics; language processing in biomodal bilinguals; visual word access in monolinguals and bilinguals; reading impairment in childhood; children's language and literacy; language development in special populations and the early communicative channel in childhood.
Encyclopedia of Linguistics by
Utilizing a historical and international approach, this valuable two-volume resource makes even the more complex linguistic issues understandable for the non-specialized reader. Containing over 500 alphabetically arranged entries and an expansive glossary by a team of international scholars, the Encyclopedia of Linguistics explores the varied perspectives, figures, and methodologies that make up the field.
Encyclopedia of Themes in Literature by
The unique, three-volume Encyclopedia of Themes in Literature offers both a survey of literary themes and a collection of in-depth analyses of how these themes operate in individual literary works. Part I of this comprehensive new set contains essays on 50 prominent literary themes, with each essay describing how the theme has evolved over time, how it relates to other important themes, and why this theme is powerful enough to recur so often in great literature. Part II contains essays on specific themes in more than 300 individual classic works of literature. Each section on a particular work contains a brief introduction to the work as well as three essays on different literary themes within the work. Themes covered include alienation, coming of age, heroism, innocence and experience, race, science and technology, and more.
Jerome Kern Encyclopedia by
Jerome Kern (1885-1945) is considered one of the most versatile and influential of all American theatre and film composers. His pioneer work in developing a truly American musical sound inspired many of the great songwriters of the 1920s, 1930s, and 1940s, and his songs include dozens of beloved standards still heard today, such as "Smoke Gets in Your Eyes" and "The Way You Look Tonight." The Jerome Kern Encyclopedia consists of entries on people, theatre and film musicals, songs, subjects, and themes related to the composer. Not only are all of Kern's stage and screen projects from 1904 to 1946 covered, but there are also entries on all the major librettists and lyricists with whom he worked, as well as producers, directors, actors, and other individuals who figured prominently in his career. Approximately 100 of Kern's most important songs are discussed, and other entries address awards, collaborations, working methods, song styles, and other related subjects. The encyclopedia also includes a brief biography of Kern, a chronology of his life and work, and appendices on recordings, interpolations, revivals, and remakes. The most complete work on one of America's greatest composers, this fascinating, readable, and extensive look at Kern will appeal to theatregoers, movie musical fans, students, teachers, and professionals in musical theatre.
The Milton Encyclopedia by
The Milton Encyclopedia offers easy and immediate access to a wealth of information about Milton. It will serve as a general and comprehensive reference tool for general readers, students, and scholars alike, enhancing the experience of reading Milton. Articles cover each poem and prose work by Milton; the life of Milton and the members of his family; all events and all contemporary and historical figures mentioned significantly in his writings; every book of the Bible in its relation to Milton's own work; printers, booksellers, and publishing history; the critical and editorial traditions; illustrators; and those whose own writing was shaped by Milton's influence.
The Handbook of Creative Writing by
The go-to guide for tutors, students and other creative writing professionals!In this new edition 54 chapters cover the central pillars of writing creatively: the theories behind the creativity, the techniques and the writing as a commercial enterprise. With contributions from over 50 poets, novelists, dramatists, publishers, editors, tutors, critics and scholars, this is the essential guide to writing and getting published.
Handbook of Narratology by
This handbook in English provides a systematic overview of the present state of international research in narratology. Detailed individual studies by internationally renowned narratologists elucidate 34 central terms. The articles present original research contributions and are all structured in a similar manner. Each contains a concise definition and a detailed explanation of the term in question. In a main section they present a critical account of the major research positions and their historical development and indicate directions for future research.
Handbook of the American Novel of the Twentieth and Twenty-First Centuries by
Increasing specialization within the discipline of English and American Studies has shifted the focus of scholarly discussion toward theoretical reflection and cultural contexts. These developments have benefitted the discipline in more ways than one, but they have also resulted in a certain neglect of close reading. As a result, students and researchers interested in such material are forced to turn to scholarship from the 1960s and 1970s, much of which relies on dated methodological and ideological presuppositions. The handbook aims to fill this gap by providing new readings of texts that figure prominently in the literature classroom and in scholarly debate; from James's The Ambassadors to McCarthy's The Road. These readings do not revert naively to a time "before theory." Instead, they distil the insights of literary and cultural theory into concise introductions to the historical background, the themes, the formal strategies, and the reception of influential literary texts, and they do so in a jargon-free language accessible to readers on all levels of qualification.
The No Rules Handbook for Writers by
The handbook appeals to a notion that all writing is an act of rebellion against the rules that exist. Reading this book ensures writers will understand the rules of classical structure which enables them to find, use, and break them in their own way to help them find their unique voice.
The Oxford Handbook of Medieval Literature in English by
The study of medieval literature has experienced a revolution in the last two decades, which has reinvigorated many parts of the discipline and changed the shape of the subject in relation to the scholarship of the previous generation. 'New' texts (laws and penitentials, women's writing, drama records), innovative fields and objects of study (the history of the book, the study of space and the body, medieval masculinities), and original ways of studying them (the Sociology of the Text, performance studies) have emerged. This has brought fresh vigour and impetus to medieval studies, and impacted significantly on cognate periods and areas. The Oxford Handbook of Medieval Literature in English brings together the insights of these new fields and approaches with those of more familiar texts and methods of study, to provide a comprehensive overview of the state of medieval literature today.
The Poetry Handbook by
The Poetry Handbook is a lucid and entertaining guide to the poet's craft, and an invaluable introduction to practical criticism for students. Chapters on each element of poetry, from metre to gender, offer a wide-ranging general account, and end by looking at two or three poems from a small group (including works by Donne, Elizabeth Bishop, Geoffrey Hill, and Nobel Laureate Derek Walcott), to build up sustained analytical readings.Thorough and compact, with notes and quotations supplemented by detailed reference to the Norton Anthology of Poetry and a companion website with texts, links, and further discussion, The Poetry Handbook is indispensable for all school and undergraduate students of English.