Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College of Arts and Sciences - Dept. of English & Foreign Languages: Articles

English

Databases - Finding Articles

Databases are online, searchable collections of information resources, such as journal article citations (often with the full-text attached), eBooks, videos, reports, monographs, etc.
Find resources about a specific topic by using keywords, subject headings, authors, and more. Use limiters to narrow your results.

Frequently Used Databases

Databases provide a descriptive record of an item (journal article, video, book review, etc.). Information about the item is provided, including such things as author, title, subject, publisher, etc. The information provided is called a citation. Sometimes a short summary or abstract of the item is provided as well. The full text of the item may not always be available in the database you are using. If you need assistance, contact me!

Evaluating Websites

There is a vast amount of information available on the Internet. However, the Internet is not regulated by any agency, so anyone can post information that may not be reliable. Therefore, it is important to evaluate the information before using it as a source.

The following websites will help with evaluating Internet sources:

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search