LibGuides: Medicine, Nursing and Allied Health: Finding Articles

Databases

Anatomy TV
World’s most detailed 3D interactive model of human anatomy online.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
Tthe world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. Provides full text for journals in other disciplines including biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and more.
DSM-5
The most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. DSM-5 is used by health professionals, social workers,and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders, and is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings-inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care.
OVID Journals
Full-text access to 64 primary full-text advanced nursing & medical journals.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health
Provides abstracting and indexing for more than 1,050 titles, with over 875 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,300 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.
Science Direct Medical Journals
This database includes full text access to 340 full-text peer-reviewed journals including many key medical journals.
Note: To access full text articles, check "Subscribed Journals" and "Open Access Articles".
Springer Scientific and Medical Online Journal Collection
Includes full text (back to 1997) to peer-reviewed journals in scientific, biological and medical sciences.

MEDLINE Complete - MEDLINE Complete is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for over 2,000 journals indexed in MEDLINE. With coverage dating back to 1809 and full-text back to 1865.

MEDLINE in PubMed - National Library of Medicine’s premier database providing Indexes over 8,100 journal titles (over 3,000 have full text links). Contain online thesaurus MESH subject headings. Dates covered: 1966- to present. Includes International Nursing Index.
Note: To see which articles have full text you must display search results in "abstract" format and look for any results that display Barry icon below abstract. Click on this Barry icon to get full text

Taylor and Francis Online Journal Collection
Provides full-text access to an extensive collection of scholarly journals, covering all subject areas.

Dissertations and Theses

Barry Dissertations (ProQuest)
Full text to selected Barry dissertations published after 1996.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global - The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

Google Scholar

Yes, scholarly articles are also available in Google. However, the full text is not freely available for all the articles. A few are free, and if the article is available in any of the Barry databases, this link (Full-Text @ Barry Library) will provide access to the full text. Note: searching must be done through the Barry server in order to be linked to the full text.

Google Scholar Search

Wikipedia Caution!

This is a free online encyclopedia that anyone can edit, so be careful about using this as a reliable source.

See General Disclaimer.