LibGuides: SPE101: Government & Legislation

Government Documents

U.S. Government Information
govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government in one easy to use platform.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to violent video games. Opposing Viewpoints in Context is cross-curricular and supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes
Nexis-Uni This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis Academic: is redesigned and improved, full-text database featuring content from news, business and legal sources along with enhanced searching, saving and collaborating features.

Legal Information Reference Center (NOLO) This link opens in a new window
Forms for all types of legal transactions, plus access to the popular NOLO series of self-help law books.
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for more than 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals.
New York Legal Research Library (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
Includes various case reporters, session laws, journals, and books about the law of New York.
ProQuest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
A Federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws.

MyFlorida
Official page for Sunshine State Government
Florida Senate
A portal into the Florida Senate's actions on legislation
Florida House of Representatives
Online Sunshine
Official internet site of the Florida Legislature
Florida 2018 ballot measures-Ballotpedia
Ballotpedia is the digital encyclopedia of American politics and elections.

U.S. Executive Branch
U.S. Government
U.S. House of Representatives
U.S. Senate
U.S. Government-Laws and Legal Issues
Ballotpedia
Ballotpedia is the digital encyclopedia of American politics and elections. Its goal is to inform people about politics by providing accurate and objective information about politics at all levels of government. We are firmly committed to neutrality in our content.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Congressional offers access to congressional publications dealing with the wide variety of topics addressed by Congress.