LRW: Free and Low-Cost Legal Research Resources: Home

Federal
GovInfo  https://www.govinfo.gov

• Links to the U.S. Code, federal court opinions, Congressional bills, the Code of Federal Regulations, and much more.

United States Code   https://uscode.house.gov

• Search and browse the general and permanent laws of the United States.

Congress.gov  https://www.congress.gov

• The official website for U.S. federal legislative information.

Law Library of Congress  https://www.loc.gov/research-centers/law-library-of-congress/about-this-research-center/ 

Florida
Online Sunshine  http://www.leg.state.fl.us

• The official website of the Florida Legislature.

Federal
GovInfo  https://www.govinfo.gov
eCFR   https://www.ecfr.gov
USA.gov (to locate agencies--federal & state)  https://www.usa.gov

Florida
Florida Administrative Register & Florida Administrative Code  https://www.flrules.org

Justia  https://www.justia.com
Legal Information Institute    http://www.law.cornell.edu
American Law Sources Online     http://www.lawsource.com/also
FindLaw    http://caselaw.findlaw.com

Federal

Federal Court Finder      http://www.uscourts.gov/court_locator.aspx
U.S. Supreme Court    https://www.supremecourt.gov  

• You can also use Justia   https://supreme.justia.com

United States Court of Appeals for the 11th Circuit  ca11.uscourts.gov

Florida District & Bankruptcy Courts  (opinions/orders archives vary)

• U.S. District Court for the Middle District of Florida   http://www.flmd.uscourts.gov  
• U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Middle District of Florida   http://www.flmb.uscourts.gov  
• U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Florida   http://www.flnd.uscourts.gov
• U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Northern District of Florida    http://www.flnb.uscourts.gov
• U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Florida   http://www.flsd.uscourts.gov
• U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of Florida   http://www.flsb.uscourts.gov

Florida
Florida Judiciary    http://www.flcourts.org
Florida Supreme Court    http://www.floridasupremecourt.org   (opinions back to 1999)
Florida District Courts  https://www.flcourts.org/Florida-Courts/District-Courts-of-Appeal

• 5th District Court of Appeals   http://www.5dca.org   

Florida Circuit Courts (trial courts)  https://www.flcourts.org/Florida-Courts/Trial-Courts-Circuit

• 9th Judicial Circuit Court of Florida (Orange and Osceola Counties)    http://www.ninthcircuit.org

Florida County Courts (trial courts)  https://www.flcourts.org/Florida-Courts/Trial-Courts-County

Other Free Case Law Resources
Justia  http://law.justia.com

• PDFs, also some text with hyperlinked cites
• Coverage:
  • U.S. Supreme Court: since 1759  (oldest cases in U.S. Reports were from various Pennsylvania courts)
  • U.S. Courts of Appeals:  since 1949
  • U.S. District Courts:  consistently since 2005, but some go back further
  • States: varies widely

FindLaw   http://caselaw.findlaw.com

• Coverage:
  • U.S. Supreme Court: since 1893 
  • U.S. Courts of Appeals:  since 1995
  • States: since 1997

Google Scholar   http://scholar.google.com

• hyperlinked cites
• Coverage:
  • U.S. Supreme Court: since 1791  
  • U.S. Courts of Appeals:  since 1923
  • U.S. District Courts:  since 1923
  • States: since 1950

Court Rules/Ethics Rules/Forms

Florida Rules  https://www.floridabar.org/rules/ctproc/
ABA Center for Professional Responsibility http://www.americanbar.org/groups/professional_responsibility/resources/links_of_interest.html
Rocket Lawyer  https://www.rocketlawyer.com/legal-documents-forms.rl

Other Interesting Case/Court Related Resources

Oyez   http://www.oyez.org (U.S. Supreme Court oral argument audio) 
Gavel to Gavel  http://wfsu.org/gavel2gavel (Florida Supreme Court oral argument video)
Briefs:

• Westlaw, Lexis, Bloomberg
• DOJ  https://www.justice.gov/osg/supreme-court-briefs 
• ALSO!    http://www.lawsource.com/also/usa.cgi?usb  
• PACER ($$)  For court filings in all federal courts   http://www.pacer.gov

Public Records Search Systems  https://publicrecords.searchsystems.net  

FastCase  ($$, but free for Barry students and Florida Bar Association members)   http://www.fastcase.com   Barry students should use the link from the Law Library Databases page at http://eguides.barry.edu/LawLibraryDatabases
VersusLaw   ($$, but free for law students—see VersusLaw website for details)   http://www.versuslaw.com
 

Bloomberg Law  https://bloomberglaw.com

Hein Online   Barry students should use the link from the Law Library Databases page at http://eguides.barry.edu/LawLibraryDatabases

ProQuest   Barry students should use the link from the Law Library Databases page at http://eguides.barry.edu/LawLibraryDatabases

Barry Research Databases

• Law Library    http://eguides.barry.edu/LawLibraryDatabases
• Main Library     http://bucwis.barry.edu/libraryservices/catalogResources/eDatabaseTitle.htm
   

Library Hours

Law Library hours change during finals, in between semesters, and on holidays.

Visit the Hours page for changes to the schedule.