LibGuides: HUM 396: Prof. Spiegel: Finding Articles

Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Cambridge Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Search over 350 full text journals published by Cambridge University Press covering all subject areas. Coverage goes back to 1997.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides an archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the life sciences.
Music Online: American Music This link opens in a new window
is an eclectic collection of music by and about Americans of diverse origins and all walks of life, from Americas past and present. Topics as varied as Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. The range of genres includes country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, shape note singing, doo-wop, Motown, R&B, soul, funk, and others.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Leading online resource for music research since its inception in 2001.
Oxford Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Search over 300 full text journals published by Oxford University Press covering all subject areas. Coverage goes back to 1996.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This database serves as central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subject areas and 12,000 full text publications, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award- Winning online reference resources features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, newspapers, reports and videos.
Taylor and Francis Online Journal Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to an extensive collection of scholarly journals, covering all subject areas.

Google Scholar

Yes, scholarly articles are also available in Google. However, the full text is not freely available for all the articles. A few are free, and if the article is available in any of the Barry databases, this link (Full-Text @ Barry Library) will provide access to the full text.

Note: searching must be done through the Barry server in order to be linked to the full text.

Google Scholar Search

Wikipedia Caution!

This is a free online encyclopedia that anyone can edit, so be careful about using this as a reliable source.

See General Disclaimer.