Disability Law: Law Review and Law Journal Articles

Students may access the Barry Law Library subscription databases and other electronic resources through our alphabetical list of Law Library databases at  https://eguides.barry.edu/BarryLawLibraryHome/Databases, but you still need to log into the Barry intranet in order to access most of them.

From off campus, to access many Law Library databases, all users will be prompted to log in with your Barry username (the prefix of your e-mail address) and password.  

Some databases, including HeinOnline, require you to access them through the Databases page on the Law Library website.  For other databases, including Westlaw, LexisNexis, Bloomberg Law, and CALI, you may simply log into them with your usernames and passwords created for each one of those, rather than with your Barry credentials.

HeinOnline is accessible through our alphabetical list of Law Library databases at  https://eguides.barry.edu/BarryLawLibraryHome/Databases, but Barry Law students, faculty, staff, and alumni still need to log into the Barry intranet in order to access it.

From off campus, to access many Law Library databases, all users will be prompted to log in with your Barry username (the prefix of your e-mail address) and password.  Then, you can access HeinOnline from the Databases page on the Law Library website.

• Click “Law Journal Library” to get started.  HeinOnline includes dozens of databases, but most often, you'll use Law Journal Library because you're looking for law review and law journal articles.

From here, if you know the citation of an article, you can just enter it in Blue Book format by clicking on the "Citation Navigator" tab near the top left. 

• If you know the name of a journal, you can just jump to that journal in the alphabetical listings in the main window, and then browse by year and then by individual issue.

If you need to search for keywords or anything else (which is how you’ll probably conduct your searches), click the “Search” tab near the top left, and select “Advanced Search,” which gives you more options than the default Search option.

Now you can search for keywords (like ADA or "Americans with Disabilities Act") in an article title or in the main text or any combinations thereof.  

• You can also search by an author’s name if you know an expert on your topic, and you can limit your searches by subject, by date, or by journal title. 

We always suggest starting out searching by article title instead of text, because if the key words you’re interested in is in the title, chances are that article is going to be on point. 

We also prefer to sort by “Volume Date Descending” so the results are displayed in reverse chronological order, with the most recent ones at the top of the list.

Once you find the article you want, you can navigate through it one page at a time, or download or print it in PDF format.  

If you ever need any additional help with HeinOnline, just ask any of the Reference Librarians or e-mail LawReferenceLibrarians@barry.edu, and we will be happy to help you further.  We feel really strongly about this resource, and consider it one of the best in our collection. 

If you don’t get ideal results right away, don’t panic!  So much of research (online and otherwise) is trial and error, trying to get that perfect combination of search terms.

Barry Law Library Reference Librarians
LawReferenceLibrarians@barry.edu
Main Phone: (321) 206-5700
Schedule a Personal Research Consultation (PERC):
LawReferenceLibrarians@barry.edu 

Jason Murray, JD, MSLS
Tenured Reference Librarian
Associate Professor of Law Library
jwmurray@barry.edu
(321) 206-5725

Cynthia Barnes, JD
Reference Librarian
Assistant Professor of Law Library
cbarnes@barry.edu
(321) 206-5729

Kim Wilson, JD, MSIS
Reference Librarian
Assistant Professor of Law Library
kwilson@barry.edu
(321) 206-5728