Skip to main content

German American Bund: Home

We welcome your feedback!

General Information

Special Collections include private personal and institutional manuscripts and paper collections that document the lives of Floridians or may be distinguished by their specialized subject matter, age, uniqueness, or value.

Rare Book Room Collection is administered as part of the Archives and Special Collections. The collection includes materials that, because of subject coverage, rarity, source, condition, form, or significant value are best handled separately from the general circulating collection.

Welcome

Welcome to Barry University Archives and Special Collections Research Guides. These guides will provide you with useful information about resources, services, and policies & procedures in place in our department.

A department within the Barry University Library, the Archives is administratively placed under the Director of the Monsignor William Barry Memorial Library. All the collections are non-circulating and maintained in closed stacks; materials are retrieved for patrons by the Archives and Special Collections staff.

The Barry University Archives and Special Collections Department was established in 1991 under the direction of Sister Dorothy Jehle, O.P. It is located on the second floor of Lehman Hall.

Finding Aids - General Formats

Finding Aids are tools designed to help researchers understand manuscript and archival collections. They contain a number of elements or sections that describe the creators, the materials in the collection, and how it is organized. Finding aids may include:

Overview: Title, dates, extent/size, and a brief description of the collection.

Biographical/Historical note: Narrative description of the biography or history of the individual or organizational creator of the collection

The Collection: An overview of the contents and physical arrangement of each collection. The Scope and content note describes what is in the collection, and Series Description would provide a brief description of the intellectual arrangement of a collection

Container list: List that provides a comprehensive and detail access to the physical arrangement of the contents of a collection in boxes and folders

Administrative information: Acquisition, access, and use information.

Finding aids may also include other useful resources related to each collection such as related materials or collections hold in the Archives

Librarian / Archivist

Ximena Valdivia's picture
Ximena Valdivia
Contact:
Barry University Archives & Special Collections
Lehman Hall 201
11300 N.E. Second Avenue, Miami Shores, Florida 33161-6695
305-899-3027
Website / Blog Page