Skip to main content

Edouard Duval-Carrie Papers: Duval-Carrié Papers

Digital Content available at the Digital Library of the Caribbean

Duval-Carrie portraits

                 (From artist's website)

 

 

Overview of the Collection

Title: Edouard Duval-Carrié Papers

Dates: 1989-

Creator: Edouard Duval-Carrié

Location: University Archives & Special Collections - Lehman 201

Extent:  2 boxes (0.5 linear ft.)

ID: ASC007

Abstract: This collection documents the work of Haitian-American artist Edouard Duval-Carrié since 1989 through the present. Materials include biographical information, exhibit catalogs, exhibit programs, lobby cards, articles, and clippings.

Language: English, Spanish, French, Creole

Biographical note

Edouard Duval-Carrié was born in Port-au-Prince, Haiti in 1954. His family emigrated to Puerto Rico while he was a child during the François Duvalier regime. Duval-Carrié studied at the Université de Montréal and McGill University in Canada before graduating with a Bachelor of Arts from Loyola College, Montréal in 1978. He later attended the École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts in Paris, France, from 1988 to 1989. He resided in France for many years and currently lives in Miami, Florida. "I didn't want to go back to Haiti because of the political turmoil there. I have two kids," he explains Instead he resides among Miami's substantial Haitian immigrant population and maintains cultural ties to his homeland. His works have been exhibited in Europe and the Americas.

In his work, Duval-Carrié's art reflects the culture and history of Haiti with references to the Vodou religion. His work is often overtly political, executed in attempts to embody his nation's spirit and its troubles. He operates in a variety of media: altarpieces, lacquered tiles, and reliquaries in addition to painting and sculpture. Installations have become more prevalent in his recent output.

Duval-Carrié received a South Florida Cultural Consortium Visual Art Fellowship in 1995 and a Southern Arts Federation Visual Art Fellowship in 1996. His work has been shown in solo exhibitions in Haiti, the Dominican Republic, Colombia, Cuba, Mexico, Brazil, France, Netherlands, Benin, and in several states of the United States.

Source: Wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edouard_Duval-Carri%C3%A9

Administrative information

Acquisition Information: Gift, Edouard Duval-Carrié, September 2016

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Processed by: Ximena Valdivia, 2016

Preferred Citation: Edouard Duval-Carrié Papers, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida

Librarian / Archivist

Ximena Valdivia's picture
Ximena Valdivia
Contact:
Barry University Archives & Special Collections
Lehman Hall 201
11300 N.E. Second Avenue, Miami Shores, Florida 33161-6695
305-899-3027
Website