Skip to main content

Climate Change: Journals

This guide is provided by The Euliano Law Library to assist students of LAW-6214 Climate Change (seminar course) in beginning their research.

Articles by Barry Faculty

Jason J. Czarnezki, Siu Tip Lam, & Nadia B. Ahmad, A Primer: Air and Water Environmental Quality Standards in the United States, 40 Wm. & Mary Envtl. L. & Pol'y Rev. 115 (2015).

*     *     *

Judith E. Koons, Earth Jurisprudence: The Moral Value of Nature, 25 Pace Envtl. L. Rev. 263 (2008). 

*     *     *

Judith E. Koons, Symposium, Locational Justice: Race, Class, and the Grassroots Protest of Property Takings, 46 Santa Clara L. Rev. 811 (2006). 

*     *     *

Kevin O. Leske, Cleaning Up Jurisdiction: Divining Congressional Intent of Clean Air Act Section 307(b), 42 Ecology L.Q. 37 (2015).

*     *     *

Kevin O. Leske, A Step by Step Look at UARG v. EPA: A New Layer of Greenhouse Gas Regulation, 4 Earth Juris. & Envtl. Just. J. 3 (2014). 

*     *     *

Taylor Simpson-Wood, Changes in Latitudes Call for Changes in Attitudes, 37 Seattle U. L. Rev. 1239 (2013). 

Contact Us

Barry Law Library Reference Librarians

lawreferencelibrarians@barry.edu

Barry University Law Library
6441 East Colonial Drive
Orlando, Florida 32807
Main Phone:  321-206-5700
Reference Phone: 321-206-5724

Searching for Law Review and Law Journal Articles on HeinOnline

HeinOnline is accessible through our alphabetical list of Law Library databases at  http://eguides.barry.edu/LawLibraryDatabases, but Barry Law students, faculty, staff, and alumni still need to log into the Barry intranet in order to access it.

From off campus, to access the intranet, all users must first go to http://ezproxy.barry.edu and log in with your Barry username (the prefix of your e-mail address) and password, then select the "School of Law Intranet" option.  That will open Weblaw.barry.edu, and from there, you may click "Law Library" along the top to get to the Library page and access the databases through our Research Guide.

(We recommend you bookmark http://ezproxy.barry.edu or add it to your favorites.)  

  • Scroll down to HeinOnline and click it.
  • Click “Law Journal Library” to get started.  HeinOnline includes dozens of databases, but most often, you'll use Law Journal Library because you're looking for law review and law journal articles.

From here, if you know the citation of an article, you can just enter it in Blue Book format by clicking on the "Citation Navigator" tab near the top left. 

  • If you know the name of a journal, you can just jump to that journal in the alphabetical listings in the main window, and then browse by year and then by individual issue.

If you need to search for keywords or anything else (which is how you’ll probably conduct your searches), click the “Search” tab near the top left, and select “Advanced Search,” which gives you more options than the default Search option.

Now you can search for keywords (like whaling or "sea piracy") in an article title or in the main text or any combinations thereof.  

  • You can also search by an author’s name if you know an expert on your topic, and you can limit your searches by subject, by date, or by journal title. 

I always start out searching by article title instead of text, because if the key words you’re interested in is in the title, chances are that article is going to be on point.  I also like to sort by “Volume Date Descending” so the results are displayed in reverse chronological order, with the most recent ones at the top of the list.

Once you find the article you want, you can navigate through it one page at a time, or download or print it in PDF format.  

If you ever need any additional help with HeinOnline, just ask any of the Reference Librarians or e-mail LawReferenceLibrarians@barry.edu, and we will be happy to help you further.  I feel really strongly about this resource, and consider it one of the best in our collection. 

If you don’t get ideal results right away, don’t panic!  So much of research (online and otherwise) is trial and error, trying to get that perfect combination of search terms.

Quick links: Search for Articles

Schedule a PERC

Having a hard time finding a topic?
Trouble organizing your research? 
Overwhelmed? Don't panic! 

Schedule a Personal Research Consultation with a Research Librarian through the link below!

http://barry.libsurveys.com/perc​

Other Databases

Sign-in through ezproxy required for below: CLICK HERE FIRST

Academic OneFile (Gale)
General reference source for full-text articles.

Environment & Energy Publishing (E&E)
Provides the daily online publications Environment & Energy Daily, ClimateWire, EnergyWire, Greenwire, OnPoint (a webcast program with video interviews) and E&E News PM (summing up daily energy and environmental policy news).

Environmental Reporter (Bloomberg BNA)
Covers significant environmental legislation and regulations as they are proposed, adopted, and amended as well as recent court decisions. Information is gathered from federal and state sources, agencies and industries.

HeinOnline
Used for searching law review articles and has early historic British, Scottish U.S and tribal laws. A good source for finding treaties and otherwise hard-to-find laws, and the best source for law review and law journal articles.

ProQuest Central
General reference source for full-text scholarly articles.