Skip to main content

23 Division of Student Affairs: Student Affairs

Division of Student Affairs Records, 23

I. Overview of the Collection

Title: Division of Student Affairs Records 

Dates: 1948--

Creator: The Division

Location: 13 / 1-13

Extent: 13 boxes (6 linear ft.)

Language: English

 

II. Historical note

In its early years when Barry College was an all-girls school and the enrollment was very small, the academic dean (Sr. Dorothy Browne) was responsible for most student activities. In 1951 Sr. Mary Alice Collins was named "assistant" (later "associate") dean, and this office took over the supervision of all student affairs other than academic. The title "Dean of Students" was held first by Sr. Grace Ellen Minten in 1960.

Sr. Grace Ellen was followed by Sr. Marie Siena Chmara as Dean of Students in 1966, followed by Sr. Ann Charles Duggan, and then Sr. Linda Bevilacqua, until Dr. Wanko took over in 1978.

The college attained university status on Nov. 13, 1981. At that time Dr. George J. Wanko, Dean of Student Affairs, became the first Vice President for Student Affairs under whose jurisdiction fell the following divisions: Athletics, Campus Health Services, Counseling and Career Development, Residential Life, International Student Services, and Student Activities. In 1999, Mike Griffin became Vice President for Student Affairs, and in 2006 the Division of Student Services became known as the Division of Student Affairs.

In the fall of 2002, the Volunteer Center, under the direction of Father Victor Laroche, O.P. was assigned to the Student Services Division. In 2009, the Volunteer Center became the DePorres Center for Community Service, and was considered part of Campus Ministry, which became part of Student Services in July, 2008. Father Scott O'Brien, O.P., was named Director of Campus Ministry and University Chaplain.

Barry University initiated the START program in the summer of 2000 to welcome new students and their parents to the campus. The week-long program includes new student investiture and orientation, presentations by appropriate departments of the university, and opportunities for testing and early registration, if desired.

Global Engagement Multifaceted Stakeholders (GEMS) grant project was initiated in the Fall of 2000. The goal of the project was to build a service learning partnership between Miami Dade Community College, Barry University and the BAME Development Corporation focuses on computer literacy and bridging the digital divide in Miami’s Overtown neighborhood. The partnership sought to provide access to the Internet and other technology for many Miami’s poorest families as well as to provide education for faculty at MDCC and BU who were preparing future educators in the teacher preparation program.

Barry University Diversity Plan was a five-year project, 1997-2002, where the Barry community sought a new approach to diversity programming by exploring the concept of a “Diversity Center without walls.” The project envisioned an unprecedented model because of its scope and impact.

 

III. The Collection

This collection document the history and administration of the Division of Student Affairs. Records include administrative files, publications, information about the departments in the Division, and memorabilia. Included are also files on the Barry University Diversity Plan and GEMS.

Photograph and audiovisual materials can be found in Barry University Photograph Collection and respectively.

The collection is organized in six series

Series I: Division

Series II: Barry University Diversity Plan

Sub-Series A: Campus Plan

Sub-Series B: Off Campus Experience

Sub-Series C: Resources on Diversity

Series III: Departments

Series IV: Publications

Series V: Visual

Series VI: Memorabilia

 

V. Administrative Information

Acquisition Information: Transfer, President’s Office, n.d. Records on Barry University Diversity Plan were transferred by Dr. Eileen McDonough, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs, on June 2011.

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Processed by: Sister Arnold Benedetto, 2008. Revised and updated by Ximena Valdivia with assistance of student Victoria Crooks, 2013

Preferred Citation: Division of Student Affairs Records, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida

Subject Guide

Ximena Valdivia's picture
Ximena Valdivia
Contact:
Barry University Archives & Special Collections
Lehman Hall 201
11300 N.E. Second Avenue, Miami Shores, Florida 33161-6695
305-899-3027
Website