Skip to main content

10 Health Sciences: Biology Department

Biology Department

I. Overview of the Collection

Title: Records of Biology Department

Dates: 1973-1990

Creator: Barry University. Biology Department

Location: 10/ 20

Extent: 1 boxes (0.5 linear ft.)

Language: English

 

II. Historical note

Prior to 1961 the Department of Natural Sciences was the academic unit under which the biology faculty functioned. In 1961, biology became a separate department under the chairmanship of Sister Agnes Louise Stechschulte, O.P. At that time, the faculty who taught biology courses was composed by Sisters Alma M. Messing, O.P., Mary William Mont, O.P., M. Genevieve Weber, O.P., Agnes L. Stechschulte, and Mr. Frank Sivik. In the 1960s the Department occupied the upper northeast wing of Adrian Hall for lectures, laboratories and classrooms, expanding later its space to Wiegand. By this time also, there was an extensive exchange of faculty and students between Barry and Biscayne College, now St. Thomas University. From 1962 to 1973 the biology majors at Biscayne College took all their upper level biology courses on Barry campus.

At the time of the minutes contained in this collection, the Biology Department had Sister John Karen Frei, O.P., PhD, as chair of the department.

In 1991, the School of Natural and Health Sciences was established and Biology came under its administration, with Sister John Karen Frei the Dean of the School. With the reorganization of Barry University in 2008, undergraduate biology was placed in the College of Arts and Sciences, and graduate programs in biology were placed in the College of Health Sciences.

III. The Collection

The collection includes minutes of meetings of the Biology Department from 1973 through 1976 and 1981 through 1984. There is a folder with a history of Biology Department at Barry by Sisters Agnes Louise, O.P., Rosemary Davis, O.P., and John Karen, O.P., and a folder with workshops organized by the department.

IV. Container list:

Box     Title

20        History of Biology Department: 1940-1990, 1990

20        Minutes of meetings, 1973-1976

20        Minutes of meetings, 1981-1984

20        Workshops, 1980

V. Administrative Information

Acquisition Information: Transfer, Sister John Karen Frei, 2009 June

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Processed by: Sr. Arnold Benedetto, 2009. Revised by Ximena Valdivia, 2012

Preferred Citation: Records of Biology Department, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida

Subject Guide

Ximena Valdivia's picture
Ximena Valdivia
Contact:
Barry University Archives & Special Collections
Lehman Hall 201
11300 N.E. Second Avenue, Miami Shores, Florida 33161-6695
305-899-3027
Website