Finding Articles - SOC 307 - Race and Ethnicity - LibGuides at Barry University

Databases

The following databases will provide you with the relevant information needed to complete your assignment.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides an archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the life sciences.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This database serves as central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subject areas and 12,000 full text publications, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award- Winning online reference resources features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, newspapers, reports and videos.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Database Search Guides

If you need additional help to know how to search the databases in an efficient and effective manner, the search guides listed below will help to guide you in navigating the databases:

Google Scholar

Yes, scholarly articles are also available in Google. However, the full text is not freely available for all the articles. A few are free, and if the article is available in any of the Barry databases, this link (Full-Text @ Barry Library) will provide access to the full text. Note: searching must be done through the Barry server in order to be linked to the full text.

If you are off campus, and not searching through the Barry server:

Go to Google Scholar
Click on Scholar Preferences
Type Barry University in the search window:

Library Links
Click on Find Library
Check the box next to Barry University
This will allow you to link to the Barry University Library datababes if the full text of the article is available.

Click on this link to use Advanced Search

SOC 307 - Race and Ethnicity: Finding Articles

Databases

Database Search Guides

Google Scholar