Skip to main content

1 History of Barry University: Early records of Barry College

History of Barry University, 01

Early records of Barry College, 1940-1950

I. Overview

Title: Early records of Barry College, 1940-1950

Date: 1940-1950

Location: 01/02

Extent: 1 box (0.5 linear ft.)

Language: English

 

II. Historical note

Groundbreaking for Barry College took place Jan. 24, 1940, and the cornerstone was laid June 20, 1940, by Bishop Patrick Barry. The college was dedicated on Feb. 4, 1941, with an impressive gathering of hierarchy, diocesan priests, religious, and students.          

 

III. The Collection

This collection includes records of the groundbreaking, laying of the cornerstone, and dedication of the college, from 1940-1941.

There are newspaper clippings describing students’ life, copy of the first year roster of students, class schedule and early Barry stationery. It also includes materials summarizing efforts of Barry students during World War II, such as records of the purchasing of war bonds and stamps.

 

IV. Container list

01/02   Groundbreaking for Barry College, 1/24/40

            Laying of Cornerstone, 6/20/40

            Dedication, Speeches, 2/04/41

            Dedication, Correspondence and guest list

            Dedication, Invitation and Program

            Dedication, Newspaper publicity

              Alma Mater

First faculty of Barry College

First year schedule, roster, stationery

Newspaper clippings of early student life

Campus pictures, 1950

            National Geographic article, 1950

            Defense efforts in WWII

            Defense Council

            1950s information

            Barry College Student Guide, 1945

 

V. Administrative Information

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Processed by: Sister Arnold Benedetto, O.P., revised by Ximena Valdivia, 2011

Preferred Citation: Early Records of Barry College, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida

Subject Guide

Ximena Valdivia's picture
Ximena Valdivia
Contact:
Barry University Archives & Special Collections
Lehman Hall 201
11300 N.E. Second Avenue, Miami Shores, Florida 33161-6695
305-899-3027
Website