Skip to main content

1 History of Barry University: Programs at Barry College

History of Barry University, 01

Programs at Barry College

I. Overview

Title: Programs at Barry College

Date: 1940-1981

Location: 01/4-5

Extent: 2 boxes (1 linear ft.)

Language: English

 

II. Historical note:

From its earliest days, Barry College sponsored numerous programs for the student body and the civic community. The Pan-American Day program from the 1940s through the 60s brought consuls and other dignitaries to the campus for colorful and patriotic festivities. The Christmas Oratorio became an annual tradition, as did Arbor Day, the Water Ballet, Olympics Day, and numerous other programs. The Tara Singers concerts were very popular with the community as were the Culture Series presentations.

III. The Collection

This collection includes printed or mimeographed programs of events and activities from some academic departments, such as art, education, music, nursing, and speech & drama. There are many programs from the Culture Series, Freshman Investiture, social events, athletics and commemorations.

IV. Container list

01/04   Art Department programs

            Culture Series

            Education Department programs

            Fashion show

            Freshman Investiture/Orientation

            Living Endowment/Investment programs

            Music Department concert programs

            Nursing Department

            Olympics Day

            Speech and Drama Department programs

            Speakers Bureau

            Swimming Meet         

            Water Ballet and Style Show

01/05   Arbor Day/Tree Planting

            Campus Queen Crowning

            Christmas Programs

            May Crowning

            Music Recitals

            Oratorio—Christmas

            Oratorio—Passion

            Pan American Day

            Patriotic Programs

            St. Thomas Aquinas Symposium

            Tara Singers

            Miscellaneous programs

 

V. Administrative Information

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Processed by: Sister Arnold Benedetto, O.P., revised by Ximena Valdivia, 2011

Preferred Citation: Programs at Barry College, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida

Subject Guide

Ximena Valdivia's picture
Ximena Valdivia
Contact:
Barry University Archives & Special Collections
Lehman Hall 201
11300 N.E. Second Avenue, Miami Shores, Florida 33161-6695
305-899-3027
Website