Skip to main content

1 History of Barry University: Mother Gerald Barry Collection

Mother Gerald Barry Collection

I. Overview

Title: Mother Mary Gerald Barry Collection

Date: 1929-1961

Location: 01/28

Extent: 7 boxes (3.5 linear ft.)

Language: English

 

II. Biographical Note

Mother Gerald Barry (1881-1961), Prioress General of the Dominican Sisters of Adrian, Michigan, was –along with her brothers Patrick and William-cofounder and first president of Barry College. Born Bridget Catherine Barry on March 11, 1881, in Lauragh, Inagh, West Clare, Ireland, was the thirteenth of eighteen children. She came to America in 1900 and attended Northwestern University and Detroit Teachers’ College, receiving a bachelor’s degree from Siena Heights in Adrian.

Mother Gerald entered the Dominican Order in 1912 and was elected mother general in 1933. Serving in this position for twenty-eight years, she became ex-officio president of Barry College when it opened in 1940.

In 1950, Pope Pius XII awarded Mother Gerald the Lateran Cross for outstanding service to the Church.

She died on November 20, 1961.

III. Container List

 

Box     Title

01/28   The Charity of Christ Presses Us

            Biography by Sister Nadine Foley

            Irish Songs

            Letters from Mother Gerald to Barry College students

            Clippings re Honorary Degree from Notre Dame Univ., 1952

            Honorary Degree from Loyola Univ., 02/01/61

            Newspaper clippings at Mother Gerald’s death

            Obituary notice. In Adrian Daily Telegram, 1961 Nov.

            Memorial cards of Mother Gerald’s death

            Eulogies, Testimonials at Mother Gerald’s death

            Sympathy cards sent to Barry College at Mother Gerald’s death

            Expressions of sympathy at Mother Gerald’s death (3 folders)

            Miscellaneous

 

IV. Administrative Information

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Processed by: Sister Arnold Benedetto, O.P., revised by Ximena Valdivia, 2011

Preferred Citation: Mother Mary Gerald Barry Collection, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida

Subject Guide

Ximena Valdivia's picture
Ximena Valdivia
Contact:
Barry University Archives & Special Collections
Lehman Hall 201
11300 N.E. Second Avenue, Miami Shores, Florida 33161-6695
305-899-3027
Website