Skip to main content

1 History of Barry University: Bishop Patrick Barry Collection

Images

Bishop Patrick Barry Collection

I. Overview

Title: Bishop Patrick Barry Collection

Location: 01/22-27

Extent: 6 boxes (3 linear ft.)

Language: English

 

II. Biographical Note

Patrick Barry was born in Lauragh, Inagh, Ireland, one of eighteen children of Michael Barry and Catherine Dixon. After ordination in 1895, he was assigned to Jacksonville, FL. and during the Spanish-American war served as a chaplain. In 1903 he was made pastor at Palatka, Fl., and in 1917 became the Rector of the cathedral in St. Augustine and Vicar-General of the diocese. Pope Pius XI named him Bishop in 1922, the first American Bishop named by the new Pope. His tenure as Bishop was marked by great progress in the diocese, the number of priests rising from 89 to 177 and churches from 77 to 101.

Bishop Barry's sister, Mother Gerald, was Prioress General of the Dominican Sisters in Adrian, MI, and one of his brothers was Msgr. William Barry, pastor of St. Patrick's Church, Miami Beach. These three along with John G. Thomson, attorney and later mayor of Miami Shores, founded Barry College in 1940.

 

 

III. The Collection

 This collection includes correspondence from Bishop Barry to or about Barry College, biographical information, and clippings about his life, death and leadership. It also includes some items of the bishop's vestments, such as his pectoral cross, mitre, and crozier.

 

 IV. Container list

 Box     Title

 01/21   Biographies of Bishop Patrick Barry

            Original letter authorizing further purchase of land

            Handwritten letters of Bishop to Mother Gerald Barry

            Correspondence  re  Blessing of Cornerstones

            Notes on Bishop Barry’s Coat of Arms

            Letter of Sister Mary Philip re early plans for college

            Newspaper clippings at death of Bishop Barry

            Fides, an account of the Diocese of St. Augustine

            Reprint from Catholicism in South Florida by Fr. McNally

01/23   Telegrams of condolence from Religious/Laity

            Telegrams of condolence from Hierarachy

            Letters of condolence from priests, friends

            Letters of condolence from relatives, dignitaries

            Sermon preached at funeral of Bishop Barry

01/24   Ryan, Philip. A long hot day: biography of Bishop… Adrian, Mich., 1981

01/25   Bishop Barry Assumes Control…” In: Saint Augustine Evening Record, 1922 May 3

            Bishop Patrick Barry Dies Suddenly. In: Florida Catholic, 1940 Aug. 16

            Funeral of Bishop Barry. In: Florida Catholic, 1940 Aug. 23

01/26   Bishop’s ring

            Bishop’s pectoral cross

            Bishop’s crosier

            Band cincture

            Miter

            Gloves

01/27   Escutcheon stamp

            Amice

            Hand towel

            Memorial cards

 

V. Administrative Information

 Acquisition Information: Transfer, Monsignor William Barry Memorial Library ; 1991 Jul. 01

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Processed by: Sister Arnold Benedetto, O.P., revised by Ximena Valdivia, 2011

Preferred Citation: Bishop Patrick Barry Collection, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida

 

Subject Guide

Ximena Valdivia's picture
Ximena Valdivia
Contact:
Barry University Archives & Special Collections
Lehman Hall 201
11300 N.E. Second Avenue, Miami Shores, Florida 33161-6695
305-899-3027
Website