Skip to main content

1 History of Barry University: Sister Eileen Rice, OP, Collection

Images

Sister Eileen Rice, O.P. Collection

I. Overview

Title: Sister Eileen Rice, OP, Collection

Date: 1939-1992

Location: 01/29-35

Extent: 7 boxes (3.5 linear ft.)

Creator: Sister Eileen Rice, O.P.

Language: English

 

II. Biographical note:

Sister Eileen Rice joined the Barry History Department in 1962 and served until she retired in 1985. Besides serving as chair of the social studies department, she directed the Honors Program and conducted the Oral History Project, hoping to write a history of Barry University. She completed the first chapter, which was published in Tequesta (no. 59, 1989, pp. 4-26) but she died in 2001, leaving manuscript material for subsequent chapters.

III. The Collection

Scope and content note: Excerpts from the Sisters' Annals and from Board of Trustees meetings; copies of correspondence between college officials and the Adrian Dominican motherhouse; correspondence regarding accreditation; reprints from first catalog; newspaper clippings of college activities; historical miscellany in chronological order from 1939 to 1992; and numerous copies of the first chapter as printed in Tequesta.

IV. Container list

Box     Folder Title

01/29                           Sister Rice Collection

                                    Manuscript

                                    Annals 1939-41

                                    Unpublished history

                                    Histories

                                    Notes/Photocopies

                                    Sister Gonzaga Greene correspondence

                                    Barry College first year student handbook

                                    Introduction for first catalog

                                    Correspondence re purchase of property

                                    Correspondence re accreditation 1942-47

                                    General Council Meetings, 1939-40

                                    Historical Miscellany 1939-1946 (8 folders)

01/30                           Historical Miscellany 1947-1965 (20 folders)

01/31                           Historical Miscellany 1966-1977 (12 folders)

01/32                           Historical Miscellany 1978-1984 (7 folders)

01/33                           Historical Miscellany 1985-1988 (4 folders)

01/34                           Historical Miscellany 1989-1991 (3 folders)

01/35                           Historical Miscellany 1992                           

           

V. Administrative Information

Acquisition Information: Transfer Dept. of History, 1985

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Processed by: Sister Arnold Benedetto, O.P., revised by Ximena Valdivia, 2011

Preferred Citation: Sister Eileen Rice, OP, Collection, Barry University Archives and Special Collections, Miami Shores, Florida

Images

   Barry University, its beginnings 

Subject Guide

Ximena Valdivia's picture
Ximena Valdivia
Contact:
Barry University Archives & Special Collections
Lehman Hall 201
11300 N.E. Second Avenue, Miami Shores, Florida 33161-6695
305-899-3027
Website