Skip to main content

A-Z Resource List: Home

This guide contains a full list of resources organized by title. Included are journal databases as well as other types of resources such as electronic encyclopedias, educational films, dissertation databases, DSM-5 and selected Internet resources.

Peer Reviewed

What is Refereed/Peer-Reviewed?

CONCEPT of REFEREED/PEER REVEIW: 
Experts in a field (singly or several people) review an author's work by its written description for methods, plausibility, completeness, ethics, etc. to "weed-out" poorly documented/conceived research, implausible research, poorly constructed research, dishonest research,etc. The hard sciences may also apply a more stringent idea of peer-reviewed by including the idea of blind peer-review. This kind of peer review excludes author and other personal information from the review process. In this case the "editor" as a peer-reviewer is removed from the process.

Browse the A-Z List

Browse all of our our online databases alphabetically by selecting the tabs at the top of this guide. All Library databases are listed here in alphabetical order. To begin a quick search for articles, check out our "Favorite Article Databases" box below.

Favorite Article Databases

Peer Reviewed VS. Scholarly

Scholarly vs. Popular

Scholary articles are published in journals. Popular articles are published in magazines.  Scholarly articles are sometimes called Peer-reviewed or Refereed. These articles generally include: a research statement/question, brief literature review, methods, discussion, tests/studies, questions, outcomes, conclusions and references.  A popular article is written in general language that is well understood by most readers.  A scholarly article is written for individuals familiar with the subject.

Full Text Journal Search

Electronic Journal Directory
Note: To search for a topic rather than a particular periodical go to Databases by Subject.


Electronic Journals by Title
Use drop-down menu below to search for journal by title, by keyword within title or by ISSN.


Electronic Journals by Subject
Use drop-down menu to search the main subject categories.
Then select the desired subject heading.

My Profile

Pamela Beegle
Contact:
(305) 899-3773